Don't be fooled by: "Urgent! - Virus!"
Wednesday, 12 December 2007

I received this email the other day saying that a site had been targeted by the virus as you can read on the image, but the strange thing is that I had not been to that site in my life, so something smelled bad here.

It mentioned a executable file to download from a site called Kazpersky.org, which I thought it was the site for the antivirus I have heard so little about, so I left the message without deleting it and it came to my memory during the day and then it came up to my head that Kaspersky is written with an "s" and not with a "z" so this is when I was sure this was indeed a virus.

I am sure a lot of people fell for this installed this file and maybe it just told them that they did not have any virus and that everything was ok, but I am sure what they have done is installed a spyware on the computer to keep track of what you do on the internet and maybe steel some passwords to your bank account or something similar.

So if you did download this software and installed it, this is a good time that you must have an expert check your computer to see if there is some software spying on you or steeling information that is used for banking or other important sites you log into.



After doing this article I went to the site Kazpersky.org and it came up just like the site of Kaspersky.com so I emailed Kaspersky.com and asked them if this site was theirs or if it was a fake site from somebody else? But I just went to the Live Chat and talked to an operator by the name of Bill, and he was not sure so he told his manager about it, they asked for bad links on the "z" site and I gave the links to them. And at last it was confirmed that it was not theirs by Bill from Kaspersky.com. 

Hits: 2135
Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
quote
bold
italicize
underline
strike
url
image
quote
quote
smile
wink
laugh
grin
angry
sad
shocked
cool
tongue
kiss
cry
smaller | bigger

security code
Write the displayed characters


busy
 
< Prev   Next >